Networked Learning Communities

Researchers, teacher educators, and mentor K-12 teachers collaborate in cross-campus Networked Learning Communities (NLCs) sponsored by CTERIN. A NLC identifies a common problem to work on together and, in conjunction with the improvement science approach, offers tools and frameworks for designing cycles of investigation, using common assessments to understand and share practice, collaboratively analyze data, and plan continuous improvement.

CTERIN works across the research-practice spectrum, utilizing an improvement science approach to better understand and address teacher preparation practice that leads to effective teaching. These collaboration efforts allow NLC members to test improvements within different preparation pathways as well as a wide range of geographical, social, and schooling contexts. NLCs also study participants’ learning and organizational change processes, to better inform future NLCs in teacher education programs.

Currently, CTERIN sponsors 3 NLCs, focused on investigating variations in teacher preparation across different models to understand the affordances and constraints for preparing teachers to enter the profession. Click on their names to learn more and to get connected:

  Multilingual Learners mll logo

Supervisors of Teacher Education (STENT)stent logo

  ETE Fellows       ete fellows logo 


This works utilizing an improvement science approach and draws on the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching's improvement science approach.


Networked Learning Communities Committee Members

Thomas Philip (UC Berkeley)

Elisa Salasin (UC Berkeley)

Virginia Panish (UC Irvine)

 Emma Hipolito (UC Los Angeles)

 Irenee Beattie (UC Merced)

Cheryl Forbes (UC San Diego)

Victoria Harvey (UC Santa Barbara)

Soleste Hilberg (UC Santa Cruz)